UA-74833448-1 Media Person Recipient Award To Brad Ziemer –

Media Person Recipient Award To Brad Ziemer

Happenings in the Golf world we are hearing that the 2018 Tour season wrapped up this past Sunday in Atlantic Beach, Florida, as the Tour Championship closed out on the sixth-annual Tour Finals.

Denny McCarthy of the University of Virginia alum ended up winning the season-ending event that saw 25 players secure their PGA TOUR cards for the 2018-19 season.

The Tour awarded a first set of 25 PGA TOUR cards for the 2018-19 season at the conclusion of the WinCo Foods event at the Portland Open.

The second set of 25 solidified  was presented at the conclusion of the finals that saw the Canadian group on the PGA TOUR grow by two players.

This was with the addition of Merritt BC’s Roger Sloan (31) from Merritt as well as Surrey’s 24 year-old Adam Svensson.

Sloan makes his return to the top circuit and last played on the PGA TOUR in 2015 managing to move into 12th place on the Tour playoff money list earlier this month that saw him finish as runner-up at Idaho’s Albertsons Boise Open.

The final event in the four-tournament playoff series saw him secure enough money guaranteeing him a return to the PGA TOUR.

Svensson on the other hand managed to earn his promotion finishing in the top 25 of the Tour’s regular-season money list.

Both Sloan and Svensson join Adam Hadwin, Nick Taylor, Mackenzie Hughes, Corey Conners, David Hearn and Ben Silverman all of Canada for the PGA Tour’s 2018-19 season California’s Safeway Open.

Out of the 25 players securing their PGA Tour Cards did so through the Tour Finals and will be categorized as rookies for the 2018-19 season.

In addition the PGA of BC is proud to announce the recipients of four of the Association’s 2018 awards, as well as the PGA of BC Community Leadership Bursary and the Jim Gibson Scholarship.

DUNC SUTHERLAND is a 15 year member of the Association and will be awarded the DISTINGUISHED SERVICE AWARD.

JIM GIBSON PATRON OF THE YEAR AWARD is presented to Kevin MacDonald, Clarity Success for Coaching

STAN LEONARD PLAYER OF THE YEAR AWARD is presented by Impact Tournament Systems and the winner of the 2018 award is Oliver Tubb of the University Golf Club.

ARV OLSON MEDIA PERSONNEL OF THE YEAR AWARD this year will go to Brad Ziemer of BC Golf and is awarded to a member of the media who has made a significant contribution to the PGA of BC for the past year.

Revelstoke Golf Club is awarded the Community Leadership Bursary that is awarded for either an individual or member facility within the Association for extraordinary passion and desire to make a different in the lives of others.

Revelstoke Golf Club House

David Stashuk, Capilano Golf & Country Club is awarded the Jim Gibson Scholarship who was a longtime supporter of the PGA of BC.

The new award this year is the Executive Professional of the Year Award and named in honor of Cec Ferguson who spent several decades in club management in both BC and Saskatchewan.

Special “thanks” to British Columbia Golf for the press release on the above.

Photo of the Copper Point Golf Course and the Ridge course in  Invermere and part of the Columbia Valley.