Connect with us

BC Sports Hall of Fame

BC Sports Hall of Fame 2023 Inductees

Photo Credit BC Sports Hall of Fame

British Columbia continues to produce “high level” athletes who have achieved success at the highest level and not just their chosen sport, but the sport they were fortunate to excel in.

It goes without saying that they clearly could have not reached this level of success without help from various individuals, some who seldom get recognized.

The one’s going unnoticed are what Sportswave call the unsung heroes of the game and never ask for recognition from anyone.

If by now you are wondering who I mentioned, it’s the volunteers for sport who are there day or night with their only goal being watching you achieve success.

Some of today’s younger generation won’t understand this at present, but the longer they are involved in sport they will eventually give back in their later years.

While we talk about success which comes in various sports Sportswave as well as Eastlink TV’s Kevin Adlem attended the BC Sports Hall of Fame ceremony held at BC Place Stadium where they introduced the 2023 Inductees.

The event was packed with not only the Inductees in attendance, but also Family and Friends who were offering congratulations to everyone being inducted.

They say it takes a mountain to build success and in this case it was higher than the Grouse Grind which allowed exceptional BC Athletes to achieve success at the highest level.

While everyone could not have reached this level without help and guidance we are pleased to offer congratulations to Delta Athletes Carla Qualtrough and Mitch Berger.

Both were in  attendance and we were fortunate to grab interviews with both as well as Chairperson Tom Mayenknecht who was the MC for the day’s events.

We should mention that we give special “thanks” to the staff who worked so diligently to put this on and welcomed everyone in attendance.

The BC Sports Hall of Fame revealed its 2023 Induction Class during a press conference this morning. 

Joining the honoured member ranks in June of 2023 are six athletes, four builder-coaches, two teams, two pioneers, one media member and the winner of the prestigious W.A.C. Bennett Award.

The 2023 Induction Class being welcomed into the Hall of Champions includes:


  • Mitch Berger – Football
  • Dennis Kearns – Ice Hockey
  • Kelsey Serwa – Ski Cross
  • Jaimie Borisoff – Wheelchair Basketball
  • Susan Butt – Tennis
  • Mary-Anne Walz – Softball


  • Wynn Gmitroski – Athletics
  • Deb Huband – Basketball
  • Jim Kojima – Judo
  • Carla Qualtrough – Para Sports

  • 1971 Richmond Roadrunners Men’s Lacrosse
    • Team Members: Stan Ackerman (public relations), Ed Ashcroft, Barry Atkinson, Chuck Bourne, Gary Bregani, Jim Bregani, Jack Buchanan, Bill Clearie, Randy Crowe (president), Roy Crowe, Larry Dean, Dave Durante, Mal Follis (secretary-treasurer), Ted Gernaey, Bob Holmes, Doug May, Grant McCauley, Harvey Olsen, Gord Osinchuk, Tom Penway, Larry Phillips (team manager), Ron Phillips (coach and general manager), Jerry Pinder, Ron Pinder, Mike Safianuk, Pat Safianuk, Butch Skirzyk (assistant coach), Mike Smith, Fred Sutton (equipment manager), Bob Tasker, Brian Tasker, Dave Tasker, Bob Taylor (trainer), Dave Taylor, Gil Tetrault, Lyle Trowski, Walt Weaver, Sandy Wheelhouse
  • 2012 Penticton Vees Men’s Hockey
  • Team Members: Nick Amies, Nick Babich, Chad Bannor, Kyle Beaulieu, Joey Benik, Nick Buchanan, Cole Buckley, Ryan Cooper, Kameran Crawford, Dexter Dancs, Cody DePourcq, Ryan Gropp, Steven Fogarty, Michael Garteig, Bryce Gervais, Shane Hanna, Fred Harbinson (coach and general manager), Garrett Hendrickson, Chris Hurry, Alex Jewell, Logan Johnston, DJ Jones, Chad Katunar, Zachery Lindsay, Curtis Loik, Mario Lucia, Cameron Marks, Jordan McCallum, Mark McLellan, Graham Millar, Mike Moran, Wade Murphy, Grant Nicholson, Carter Popoff, Connor Reilly, Mike Reilly, Ryan Reilly, Nic Renyard, Brady Shaw, Travis St. Denis, Riley Stadel, Troy Stecher, Zach Urban, Daniel Urbani


  • Eleanor (Young) Stonehouse – Tennis
  • Brian Day – Sports Medicine


  • Dan Russell

W.A.C. Bennett Award

  • Jake Kerr / Jeff Mooney

“After months of anticipation, we’re energized to begin telling the stories and marking the outstanding achievements of our Class of 2023,” said Tom Mayenknecht, Chair of the BC Sports Hall of Fame. “Honouring the past – and inspiring the future – is at the very heart of the mission of the BC Sports Hall of Fame and this year’s honourees truly exemplify the best of sport in this province and beyond. 

On behalf of our Board of Trustees, Selection Committee chaired by Wendy Pattenden and management team led by Chief Executive Nicholas Cartmell, we congratulate our deserving inductees and look forward to coming together again in person to fully honour the Class of 2023 at our BC Sports Hall of Fame Induction Gala next year.”

Induction into the BC Sports Hall of Fame is the highest sporting honour in British Columbia, celebrating the extraordinary individuals and moments that make up the fabric of B.C.’s diverse sport history.

Since 1966, the BC Sports Hall of Fame has inducted 442 individuals and 67 teams to its Hall of Champions, ensuring their legacies will continue to inspire future generations.  

The formal Induction Gala for the Class of 2023 is scheduled to be held in June 2023, with details to be announced in the coming months.

Congratulations to everyone on their success from Sportswave and Eastlink TV.


About Sportswave



Sportswave Productions is located in Delta, BC.
Sportswave promotes/broadcasts Amateur Sports within the Lower Mainland.
He was recognized by Ravi Kahlon, BC’s MLA Minister for Jobs, Economic Recovery and Innovation in September 11, 2017.
In December 2022 he was Awarded the Queen Elizabeth II Platinum Jubilee Pin.
Awarded Rotary Paul Harris Fellow Award for tangible for significant assistant given for the better understanding and friendly relations among peoples of the world.
SportsWave offers services that extend from sports articles, to interviews with on location webcasts on
For additional information:




X-Treme Threads


More in BC Sports Hall of Fame