Sheila Robertson Award

Photo Credit

Canada’s most deserving and influential coaches and sports leaders were honored November 9th at the 2018 Petro-Canada Sport Leadership Awards Gala.

Among the recipients will be Tennis Canada, who is set to receive the Sheila Robertson Award.

The event is hosted by the Coaching Association of Canada and was held at the Shaw Centre in Ottawa,.

The event (Gala) recognizes individuals who live the values of the National Coaching Certification Program (NCCP) and the positive impact they have within the Canadian sport community.

Lorraine Lafrenière, Chief Executive Officer of the CAC mentions “Every year, coaches and leaders in the Canadian sport system foster growth and innovation in their communities.”

Tennis Canada had the honour of receiving the Sheila Robertson Award during the Gala for the award that recognizes the outstanding contributions to coach education, recognition, and professional development.

The Sheila Robertson Award is awarded to the National Sport Organization or Multi-sport Service Organization that demonstrates true values of coaching through the mandate of its organization throughout the year.

Lorraine Lafrenière, Chief Executive Officer mentions “Inspiring athletes to perform at their best — both on and off the field — is because these leaders are positive role models and supporters in the many facets of values-based leadership.”

She continues “The Coaching Association of Canada is proud to recognize these leaders for the positive impact their influence has on Canadian athletes and participants.”

Ari Novik, Senior Director of Tennis Development at Tennis Canada mentioned “Tennis Canada is very proud to receive this award and to be recognized by the Coaching Association of Canada for our work in coaching development.”

Ari continues to mention “Tennis Canada has been committed to coaching development for years  providing resources and I want to acknowledge the following at Tennis Canada who are basically my team members – Marie-France Mercier, Jocelyn Robichaud, Joan Leung, Ryan Borczon, and Scott Milnthorp.”

Photo Credit