Connect with us

While golf is somewhat wrapping up in various areas, the lower mainland continues to see growth despite the inclement weather of late, but that never stopped the diehard golfers from hitting the links.

It was recently announced that the PGA TOUR made if official to let us know that starting the 2020 seasons all three of its International Tours namely the PGA TOUR Latinoamérica, Mackenzie Tour PGA TOUR Canada and the PGA TOUR Series China—will reward an immediate promotion and membership on the Korn Ferry Tour. 

This is given to any player who manages to pull off successful wins in all three tournaments on one Tour in a season of play.

This follows the tradition that was established by the Korn Ferry Tour, which started with the original three-win promotion in 1997. 

At that time it send three-time winners in one season to the PGA Tour and since the beginning there have been 12 players win three Korn Ferry Tour tournaments in a season. 

“This is one more incentive for the players who play high-level golf on our three Tours in Latin America, Canada and China. 

Rob Ohno, PGA TOUR Senior Vice President, International Tours told the media “PGA TOUR Latinoamérica began in 2012, with the Mackenzie Tour following a year later and PGA TOUR Series-China starting in 2014. 

Eight different players have won at least three times a year with China’s Zecheng “Marty” Dou still the only International Tour player to win four (4) titles in a season as well as in 2016 on PGA TOUR Series-China.

Ohno continued “The talent level on these Tours is so high that these players can get hot and win in bunches, and we look forward to when that happens and the Tours provide a pathway to the PGA TOUR, and the players’ next stop is the Korn Ferry Tour and should a player wins three times it’s only right that we send him on his way.”

China’s Haotong Li was the first player to accomplish a three-win season, in 2014. Since then, New Zealanders Josh Geary and Nick Voke won three tournaments that Tour, with Dou winning four times.

In 2015, Mexico’s Rodolfo Cazaubon became the first PGA TOUR Latinoamérica player to win three tournaments in a season. Current PGA TOUR player Nate Lashley followed Cazaubon, in 2016. Dan McCarthy was the first Mackenzie Tour player to accomplish the feat, with Tyler McCumber the most recent, in 2018.

The PGA TOUR Latinoamérica is a professional golf tour created in 2012 by the PGA TOUR in collaboration with promoters, clubs and national golf federations in Latin America. 

The very first season (2012) featured 11 different tournaments in seven (7) countries in the Latin American region and has grown in 2019 to include 17 events through 10 different countries. 

It will hold events in Argentina, Brazil, Chile, the Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Jamaica, Mexico, Panama, Peru and the United States.

At the end of each season, it should be noted that the leading money-winner is awarded Roberto De Vicenzo Award that wills ee the leading 10 money-winners earn status on the Korn Ferry Tour in the upcoming season.

More in Golf