UNBC Athletics Shines

Photo Credit UNBC Athletics

Sports in the Province doesn’t necessarily have all athletes come from the lower mainland, albeit that is where there seems to be more of a growth of their chosen sport.

We are hearing that northern BC in the Prince George area also continues to promote and produce talent for post-secondary school in their area.

Two of whom excel in basketball and were standouts for the 2019-20 season for UNBC Athletics that saw Madison Landry and Tyrell Laing with the most MVP honours for the Timberwolves’ as the year-end awards wrapped up.

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the school announced the winners for this year winners through the help of social media rather than the annual ceremony which is held at the Hart Banquet Hall.

Duchess Park, fourth-year Madison Landry was one of the most consistent players finishing third in the conference in Canada West play that saw her score double-figures in 19 of 20 regular season Women’s games and was named Canada West Third Team All-Star.

Madison Landry
Photo Credit UNBC

UNBC women’s basketball head coach Sergei Shchepotkin mentioned that “Madison finished with 19.1 PPGA and was great for us due to her talent which see’s her create problems for opposing defenses with her length and ability to shoot from the outside and I am proud of her for winning this award.”

She (Landry) shared the award with Maria Mongomo who is also a graduating-teammate who dominated the women’s season-scoring race with 20.1 PPG.

T-Wolves Tyrell Laing for the men’s game playing with PG Secondary achieved top in scoring averaging 21.9 PPG (437 total) setting a new UNBC record

Tyrell Laing
Photo UNBC

Other MVP’s for UNBC were Women’s player Mara McCleary as well as Men’s standout Kensho Ando were both named the MVP’s for the women’s and men’s soccer teams in order.

Listed below is the complete list of award-winners:


  • MVP = Madison Landry, Maria Mongomo
  • Most Improved Player = Issy Bourque
  • Rookie of the Year = Rebecca Landry
  • Best Defensive Player = Emma vanBruinessen
  • Leadership Award = Emily Holmes


(Commitment, Teamwork/ Willingness)

  • MVP = Mara McCleary
  • Best Offensive Player = Sofia Jones
  • Best Defensive Player = Mara McCleary
  • Green and Gold Award = Jenna Wild


(Dedication to Men’s program)

  • MVP = Tyrell Laing
  • Rookie of the Year = Fareed Shittu
  • Most Inspirational Player = Saje Gosal
  • Practice Wins Leader = Vova Pluzhnikov
  • Zane Robison Award = Chris Ross


(Commitment, Teamwork/ Willingness)

  • MVP = Kensho Ando
  • Golden Boot Award = Stu Rowlands
  • Best Defensive Player = Rob Goodey
  • Green and Gold Award = Mitch Linley

Congratulations to those selected as well as all the runners-up!!!