UA-74833448-1 Volunteers In Sport –

Volunteers In Sport

When any individual is recognized by it’s governing body of  their chosen sport, it’s not just recognition, but more of an honor, which lasts a life-time.

This year Sport BC is extremely pleased to recognize the following individuals for the recognition of the Prestigious Presidents Awards, presented by “Sports with Balls”.

The annual President’s’ Awards, presented by Sports with Balls, now in its 23rd year, are presented to volunteers from Sport BC member and partner organizations who represent the spirit of volunteerism.

The individuals all have shown and continue to show dedication, energy and commitment contribute to the development of their chosen sport and/or organization in British Columbia.

The sports group is comprised of Basketball BC, Volleyball BC, BC Lacrosse Association, BC Soccer Association, Softball BC, Baseball BC, Tennis BC and the BC Ringette Association.  

All individuals will be honored in the annual Awards Ceremony which is held Wednesday, March 8, 2017 in Vancouver.

The 2017 Presidents Award winners represent 25 communities and 44 different Sport BC member and partner organizations.

Adaptive Snowsports Bruce Lebans Squamish
Archery Darcy Falk Mission
Athletics Sue Kydd Langley
Badminton Mike Mitson West Kelowna
Baseball Gavin Burke Whalley
Basketball Diana Chan North Vancouver
BC Games Society Bev Viger Abbotsford
BC Sports Hall of Fame Barbara “Bim” Schrodt Vancouver
Blind Sports Tamara Grenon Vancouver
Bowls George Cubiss Maple Ridge
Boxing Wally Doern Quesnel
Canoe Kayak Laura Said Maple Ridge
Curl Colleen Trozzo Elkford
Cycling Stuart Lynne Port Moody
Diving Marie  Pierre Lavoie Victoria
Fencing Gareth Mason Pitt Meadows
Field Hockey Brenda Rushton Victoria
Golf Leslie Crawford Victoria
Gymnastics Georgina Nerpio Richmond
Hockey Steve Amiss Saanichton
Horse Council Orville Smith Prince George
Judo Henry Uyeda Langley
Karate Chris Browett Coquitlam
Lacrosse Angie Schwan Delta
ProMotion Plus Erin Wilkins Vancouver
Ringette Darrell Desjardins Port Coquitlam
Rowing Herb Evers Vancouver
Rugby Union John Lecky West Vancouver
Sailing Paul Mendham West Vancouver
Skate Canada /Yukon Section Lynne Henderson-Drake Campbell River
Soccer Bill Sparling West Vancouver
Soccer Claudia Sparling West Vancouver
Softball Ann  Holmes Vernon
Special Olympics Darren Inouye Burnaby
Speed Skating Keith Gordon Fort St. James
Squash Andrew Braff Kelowna
Swim Sheila Nelson Prince George
Synchronized Swimming Anne-Marie North Burnaby
Tennis Sy Silverberg Victoria
Triathlon Larry Feagan Langley
Volleyball Doramy Ehling Richmond
Wheelchair Sports Kylah Blair Vancouver
Wrestling Jim Mitchell Abbotsford

For information on the purchase of a table or individual tickets for the 51st Annual Athlete of the Year Awards, please visit